The CHRODIS PLUS Governing Board

Dear Governing Board members,

We are pleased to invite you to participate in the

2nd Governing Board meeting of the Joint Action CHRODIS PLUS 

on 4-5 June 2019 in Malta.

The purpose of this meeting is to debate and reflect on strategic issues concerning the CHRODIS PLUS.

It is also expected to create a common vision and high level response to the burden of non-communicable diseases.

The event starts on Tuesday 4th of June with the official opening session at 15:00 p.m.

Please click HERE to see the preliminary agenda of the 2nd Governing Board meeting.

RSVP now by clicking below


Please sign up to the meeting by 14th May at the very latest.

N.B. Accommodation and travel management will be facilitated by the Secretariat.

In the nearest future we will be sharing additional information about the meeting.

Until then,

Your faithful Governing Board Secretariat

We look forward to seeing you in Malta!

Questions? Talk to us! ;

The CHRODIS PLUS Governing Board was established in order to generate synergies between EU institutions and EU Member States and EEA countries in regards to the health agenda on chronic diseases and healthy ageing. It is comprised of representatives nominated by the health ministries of Members States, EEA countries, and representatives of the European Commission and the European Region of the World Health Organization (WHO).

The Governing Board’s main responsibilities are to keep relevant policy-makers informed, contribute to guiding the technical work and strategic progress of the CHRODIS PLUS Joint Action, and to support the development of a sustainability plan based on keeping chronic diseases at the forefront of the political agenda for health after the end of the Joint Action. The Governing Board meets once a year.

Click HERE to read the First CHRODIS PLUS Governing Board Newsletter – November 2018

First CHRODIS PLUS Governing Board meeting

Date:             Tuesday, 19 June 201
Location:      Ulm University (Ulm, Germany)

To see more on what happened during this meeting please click here.


CHRODIS PLUS Governing Board members

AustriaEva-Maria Kernstock, Federal Ministry of Health and Women’s Affairs

Belgium – Saskia van de Bogaert, Federal Public Service Health, Food Chain Safety and Environment

Belgium  Danielle Massant (alternate member), Flemish Administration (Agentschap Zorg en Gezondheid) 

CyprusMyrto Azina Chronides, Ministry of Health, Medical Officer 1st Class

Cyprus Chryso Gregoriadou (alternate member), Ministry of Health, Nursing Services  Officer

Croatia – Ivana Brkic Bilos, Croatian Institute of Public Health, Head of Division for Epidemiology and Prevention of Noncommunicable Chronic Diseases

Croatia – Verica Kralj  (alternate member), Croatian Institute of Public Health, Head of Department for Cardiovascular Diseases

Denmark – Charan Nelander, The Danish Committee for Health Education (CEO)

Finland Heli Hätönen, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health

France Christine Berling, Head of International and European Affairs department at the Directorate General for Health

France  – Jean-Baptiste Rouffet (alternate member), Department of European and International Affairs, Directorate General for Health

GermanyYvette Shajanian Zarneh, The Federal Centre for Health Education (BZgA) Division “International Relations”

Germany  – Ursula von  Rüden (alternate member), The Federal Centre for Health Education (BZgA), Division “Research, Quality Assurance”

Greece – Fofo Kalyva, Director of the Non Communicative Diseases & Nutrition Unit of the Directorate of Public Health at the Hellenic Ministry of Health

Greece – Stefania Xenariou (alternate member), University education administrative employee in the Communicative Diseases Unit of the Directorate of Public Health at the Hellenic Ministry of Health

IcelandÁshildur Knútsdóttir, the Ministry of Welfare

Iceland  – Dóra Guðrún Guðmundsdóttir (alternate member), the Directorate of Health

IrelandDr Alan Smith, Department of Health, Deputy Chief Medical Officer

Ireland  – Sandra Barnes (alternate member), Department of Health, Assistant Principal Officer

Ireland  – Teresa Bennett (alternate member), Project Manager/Senior Health, Promotion Officer, Health Services Executive

Italy  – Giovanni Nicoletti (alternate member), Ministry of Health of Italy

Lithuania  – Lina Jaruševičienė, Vice-Minister of Health, Ministry of Health of The Republic of Lithuania

Lithuania – Genovaitė Klimienė (alternate member), Chief Officer , MoH Lithuania, Personal Health Care Department

LuxembourgGuillaume Campagne, Direction de la Santé, Division de la Médecine Préventive

Luxembourg – Simone Steil  (alternate member), Direction de la Santé, Division de la Médecine Préventive

Malta – Paula Vassallo, Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, Director

Netherlands – Martijn Martena, Ministry of Health, Sports and Welfare 

Netherlands – Damiët M.A. Onderstal, Ministry of Health of the Netherlands

NorwayPetter Øgar, Department of Municipal Health Services,Director General

PolandJoanna Kilkowska, Ministry of Health, Deputy Director in the Department of Health Policy

Poland  – Anna Chmielewska (alternate member), Ministry of Health, specialist in the Department of Health Policy

Portugal Estela dos Santos Benvinda, The Directorate-General of Health, Director of Services for Disease Prevention and Health Promotion

Romania – Alexandra Cucu, Director for Health promotion and evaluation

Romania – Florentina Furtunescu, Associate Professor UMF Carol Davila

Serbia – Ljubica Pakovic, Ministry of Health of Serbia

SlovakiaŠtefan Laššán, Ministry of Health of the Slovak republic, General director of the Department of Health

SloveniaVesna-Kerstin Petric, Ministry of Health

Slovenia  – Pia Vracko (alternate member), National Institute of Public Health

SpainYolanda Agra VarelaDeputy General Director of Quality and Innovation, General Directorate of Public Health, Quality and Innovation, Spanish Ministry of Health, Consumer Affairs and Social Welfare

Spain  – Carmen Arias López (alternate member), Technical expert of the Quality and innovation Sub-Directorate

Sweden Iréne Nilsson Carlsson, Swedish National Board of Health and Welfare

United KingdomTim Baxter, Deputy Director, Healthy Behaviours, Department of Health

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development(OECD) – Michele Cecchini, Principal Administrator (Public Health), ELS – Health Division

World Health Organization (WHO) – Bente Mikkelsen, WHO Regional Office for Europe

World Health Organization (WHO) – Jill Farrington, WHO Regional Office for Europe

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt