Governing Board of CHRODIS PLUS

The CHRODIS PLUS Governing Board is established in order to generate synergies between EU Members States and EEA countries with EU institutions on the health agenda on chronic diseases and healthy ageing. It is comprised of nominated representatives of health ministries of Members States, EEA countries, representatives of the European Commission and the European Region of the World Health Organization (WHO).

The main activities of the GB are to keep relevant policy-makers informed, contribute to guide the technical work and the strategic progress of CHRODIS PLUS Joint Action and to support the development of a sustainability plan based on keeping chronic diseases at the forefront of the political agenda for health after the end of the Joint Action. The Governing Board meets once a year.


AustriaEva-Maria Kernstock, Federal Ministry of Health and Women’s Affairs

Belgium  – Saskia van de Bogaert, Federal Public Service Health, Food Chain Safety and Environment

CyprusMyrto Azina Chronides, Ministry of Health (Medical Officer 1st Class)

Cyprus Chryso Gregoriadou (alternate member), Ministry of Health (Nursing Services  Officer)

Finland Heli Hätönen, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health

France Christine Berling, Head of International and European Affairs department at the Directorate General for Health

France  – Jean-Baptiste Rouffet (alternate member), Department of European and International Affairs, Directorate General for Health

GermanyYvette Shajanian Zarneh, The Federal Centre for Health Education (BZgA) Division “International Relations”

Germany  – Ursula von  Rüden (alternate member), The Federal Centre for Health Education (BZgA), Division „Research, Quality Assurance

Hungary Zoltan Cserhati, National Institute of Pharmacy and Nutrition, Deputy Director General

IcelandÁshildur Knútsdóttir, the Ministry of Welfare

Iceland  – Dóra Guðrún Guðmundsdóttir (alternate member), the Directorate of Health

IrelandJohn Devlin, Department of Health (Deputy Chief Medical Officer)

Ireland  – Sandra Barnes (alternate member), Department of Health (Assistant Principal Officer)

Ireland  – Teresa Bennett (alternate member), Project Manager/Senior Health, Promotion Officer, Health Services Executive

Italy  – Giovanni Nicoletti (alternate member), Ministry of Health of Italy

Lithuania  – Genovaitė Klimienė Chief Officer, Ministry of Health of the Republic of Lithuania, Personal Health Care Department

Lithuania  – Ieva Gudanavičienė (alternate member), Chief expert of Nutrition and Physical Activity Division, Ministry of Health of the Republic of Lithuania, Public Health Department

Malta – Paula Vassallo, Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, Director

NorwayPetter Øgar, Department of Municipal Health Services,Director General

PolandJoanna Kilkowska, Ministry of Health, Deputy Director in the Department of Health Policy

Poland  – Anna Chmielewska (alternate member), Ministry of Health, specialist in the Department of Health Policy

Portugal Andreia Jorge Silva, National focal point of the Steering Group on Promotion and Prevention

Romania – Florentina Furtunescu (alternate member), Associate Professor UMF Carol Davila

Serbia- Ljubica Pakovic, Ministry of Health of Serbia

SlovakiaŠtefan Laššán, General director of the Department of Health

SloveniaVesna-Kerstin Petric, Ministry of Health

Slovenia  – Pia Vracko (alternate member), Deputy representative

SpainPaloma Casado Durandez, Deputy Director of Quality and Innovation

Spain  – Carmen Arias López (alternate member), Technical expert of the Quality and innovation Sub-Directorate

Sweden Iréne Nilsson Carlsson, Swedish National Board of Health and Welfare

United KingdomTim Baxter, Deputy Director, Healthy Behaviours,Department of Health



Former Governing Board members of CHRODIS Joint Action (2013-2016)

Magdalena Arrouas – Ministry of Health, Austria
Isabelle van der Brempt – FPS Health, Food Chain Safety and Environment, Belgium
Saskia Van den Bogaert – FPS Health, Food Chain Safety and Environment, Belgium
Anneleen Craps – Ministry of Health, Belgium
Elvira Foteva – Directorate “Health Policy” of the Ministry of Health, Bulgaria
Tamara Poljicanin – National Institute of Public Health (Ministry of Health), Croatia
Myrto Azina – Chronides Ministry of Health, Cyprus
Kristina Köhler – Ministry of Health, Estonia
Mr Manfred Huber – WHO Regional Office for Europe WHO, European Region
Dr. Sirpa Sarlio – Lähteenkorva Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, Finland
Mr Alain Brunot – Ministère des affaires sociales, de la santé et des droits des femmes, France
Karen Budewig – Federal Ministry of Health, Germany
Fofo Kaliva – Ministry of Health, Greece
Raineri Guerra – Ministry of Health, Italy
Ieva Gudanavičienė – Ministry of Health (Health Promotion Department), Lithuania
Maren Skaset – Ministry of Health, Norway
José Boavida – Ministry of Health (National Programme for Diabetes), Portugal
Vesna Kerstin Petrič – Ministry of Health (Directorate for Public Health), Slovenia
Antonio L. Andreu – Director del Instituto de Salud Carlos III, Spain
Carolina Rodriguez  – Ministry of Health, Spain
Dr. Martin McShane – Department of Health (NHS England’s National Director for Patients with Long Term Conditions), United Kingdom
Michael Wood – Department of Health (NHS England’s National Director for Patients with Long Term Conditions), United Kingdom

Wolfgang Philipp – DG SANTE, Belgium

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt